School’s out forever…

I turned in my last Akkadian assignment and e-mailed my last paper yesterday. Today I hauled all my books back up to the University of Cincinnati. The next time I step foot in a classroom I will be teaching (knock on wood). After a normal semester I would feel a huge sense of relief, however my body already crashed a few weeks ago, and I am now on the clock for comprehensive exams.

Here at HUC there are three written comprehensive exams in areas of your choice. Each exam is a full-day. I have created sort of a hybrid program for myself that has broadly focused on Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East, but I am more interested in the languages so I have taken Semitics classes whenever I can. Unfortunately there are not a lot of programs interested in someone who can teach Semitic languages. As of now, my three exams will be Hebrew Bible, Semitic Languages (2/3 Akkadian and 1/3 other), and Ancient Near Eastern History.  

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “School’s out forever…”

  1. John Hobbins Says:

    At a lot of schools, profs teach non-curricular languages on the side to those who wish to learn. I wish you well, Peter, as you take your next steps.

  2. Peter Bekins Says:

    Thanks John.

  3. Widower Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Widower.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

