Logos for mac

John Hobbins and Charles Halton have pointed out that it looks like Logos is finally close to releasing the mac version. I mentioned a while ago that I was interested in the syntactical databases included with Logos (and not in Accordance). It looks like the cheapest “Scholarly” version is on sale for $472.46. With this you get your basic tagged Hebrew and Greek Bible texts (including the aforementioned database), some Greek lexicons including Liddell & Scott, BDB, the tagged Targum texts from the CAL, and a crapload of fluff. And I mean a crapload. Upgrade to the silver package and you add HALOT, Gesenius, the Peshitta and a Lexicon, and more fluff. On sale for only $749.96.

I guess by “scholar” these packages are targeting pastors and Bible College/Seminary professors so they may be interested in some stuff I count as fluff, like Hodge’s  Systematic Theology. Or the title listed as “Difficulties in the Bible: Alleged Errors and Contradictions”.

Keep your devotionals, sermon outlines, and lite commentaries, how about a true “scholars” package (yeah, yeah, I’m grumpy and I’m in Denver, Colorado, and neither of my kids understands what a time change is so I’ve been up at 4:00 the past two days…). I would like the Hebrew and Greek Biblical texts, the Targums, the NWS Inscriptions, the DSS, CoS, ABD, HALOT, Gesenius, KTU, every Akkadian text ever written, Linear A and B (deciphered), the Khirbet Qeiyafa ostracon, that Samalian inscription that has been pushed out of the limelight…

UPDATE: Brian Gault e-mailed me to let me know that while the Hebrew text of Anderson-Forbes and WIVU are included, the actual databases are not. They are designed for Logos 3.0, while the mac team started with 2.0, so you will not be able to do any fancy syntactic searches on the mac version. So looks like I’m sticking with Accordance for a while.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Logos for mac”

  1. Jay Says:

    or you could switch to pc . . . or maybe sheol will give up its dead . . .

  2. Peter Bekins Says:

    ha ha ha ha ha. That’s a good one. My kids have plenty of building toys, I don’t need any more bricks around the house.

  3. danielandtonya Says:

    I’m still not convinced that the syntactic search is any better. Isn’t our goal as readers to make better syntactic decisions? This database seems much too subjective.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

