Ba’al the Storm God

Last night at Blockbuster I was looking for Bolt (they were all out) when I noticed right next to where it should have been a copy of Ba’al the Storm God. I think I remember some other blogger hi-lighting this when it came out, but I can’t remember who. The subtitle on the case at Blockbuster was “There’s going to be hell to pay”. I found that kind of amusing, and I also really wanted to see if the characters were going to pronounce it “bail” like normal English speakers or “bah-al” like us smarty-pants grad students. Alas, I settled on Bedtime Stories instead which actually wasn’t half bad.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Ba’al the Storm God”

  1. James Pate Says:

    A similar situation is that Star Trek episode on Vaal. Kirk pronounces it “Vale,” whereas the natives say “Vah-al.”

  2. Peter Bekins Says:

    That’s interesting. I wonder if there is any connection or if it is just coincidence?

  3. James Pate Says:

    Actually, come to think of it, the natives pronounced it “Vawl.” So it was probably just not knowing what to do with the “aa.”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

