Getting back up to speed

My main computer is an iBook G4 that is going on 6 years old now. For the last few months the hard drive has been spinning quite loudly and clicking at me, a sure sign of impending doom (plus I only had about 1/2 GB of free space left which meant it ran slooooow).

So, seeing as how I’m in the middle of writing this dissertation thing I figured a crashed hard drive would not be good. Last night I switched out the old for a new 250 GB model. I think I have everything pretty much back to normal now, but I lost a few fonts that I had put in the main font folder instead of my user folder.

I also have a copy of Leopard coming so I can take advantage of the time capsule backup program. Leopard also has CoreText which can do the contextual forms for OpenType fonts like SBL Hebrew. Unfortunately I can’t go to Snow Leopard since I have a PowerPC.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “Getting back up to speed”

  1. Jason Says:

    Your logic (i.e., mother) board could go anytime too. I would make sure you are automatically upgrading every day with a program like Mozy.

  2. Carl Says:

    The fact that you have made it 6 years with that thing is a testimony to Apple’s brand for sure. Paraphrasing (and perhaps misunderstanding?) Agrippa(Acts 26:28): “You almost persuaded me.”


  3. I have a 2002 G3 iBook in which I put in a large hard drive and it is now running great. It was made well.

    As far as Jason’s comment about the logic board, if you can afford it, you might want to consider having a voltage regulator between your computer and the wall. “Dirty power” with spikes and drops can be one of the things that are hard on the logic board.

  4. Gord Says:

    You would never get six years out of a pc. apple quality standards are just amazing. congrats on the money you have saved!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

